Home » Posts tagged 'lynn ahrens'

Tag Archives: lynn ahrens

RAGTIME Press Release

Here’s what I’m working on:


Contact: Gay Rupert
(630) 372-4700, ext. 4602

February 2012

Bartlett High School
Announces the Cast of
The Tony-Winning Musical

Book by Terrence McNally, Music by Stephen Flaherty, Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens

Based on the novel Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow

RAGTIME is an epic tale of a young America played out in song and dance. At the dawn of the century, everything is changing…and anything is possible. Based on E.L. Doctorow’s celebrated epic novel and set in the volatile melting pot of turn-of-the-century New York, RAGTIME weaves together three distinctly American tales — that of a stifled upper-class wife, a determined Jewish immigrant and a daring young Harlem musician — united by their courage, compassion and belief in the promise of the future. Their personal journeys come alive as historic figures offer guidance and diversion – among them escape artist Harry Houdini, auto tycoon Henry Ford, educator Booker T. Washington and infamous entertainer Evelyn Nesbit. Together, their stories celebrate the struggle between tradition and independence all in pursuit of the American dream.
The Tony Award-winning score by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty is just as diverse as the “Melting Pot of America” that it seeks to recreate, drawing upon traditional Jewish folk sounds, Vaudeville’s outrageous style, and Scott Joplin to invoke the enlivened spirit of Harlem.

Ragtime plays the Bartlett High School Auditorium from April 19th through the 22nd.

RAGTIME originally opened on Broadway on January 18, 1998 at the Ford Center for the Performing Arts. The musical garnered four Tony Awards® including Best Book, Original Score and Best Orchestrations. The beloved Ahrens and Flaherty score features some of the award-winning team’s best-known songs including the title song, “Make Them Hear You” and the anthem “The Wheels of a Dream.”

RAGTIME features a company of more than 100 students, starring Mary DeWitt (Mother), Caleb Hasan (Coalhouse Walker Jr.), Kenneth Gonzales (Tateh), Alexis Mason (Sarah), Nicholas Petrelli (Younger Brother), and Chandler Lanham / Alyssa Chevere (Emma Goldman); with Catalina Faczek (The Little Girl), Nicholas Gaines (Booker T. Washington), Allysa Galloni (Evelyn Nesbit), Joshua Howell (J.P. Morgan), Matthew Howell (Grandfather), Michael O’Malley (Willie Conklin), Thomas McCarty (Henry Ford), Dina Muzzalupo (Sarah’s Friend), Damon Rager (The Little Boy), Jason Vences (Harry Houdini), Christopher Wegner (Father).

The large ensemble includes Daniel Almquist, Adalys Alvarado, Lucille Avendano, Carly Bain, Amanda Bartel, Samantha Biringer, Dolores Brazunias, Andrew Brhel, Ryan Bruchert, Daniel Bucek, Jacqueline Busman, Cora Butler, Jennifer Cammelot, Carlee Campbell, Lauren Cannici, Kelly Cannon, Genesis Castillo, Larissa Castillo, Naomi Chavez, Tyler Christensen, Angelica Chumra, Jessica Ciupka, Kelisha Cokley, Molly DeWitt, Rubi Duarte, Nicholas Dungey, Victoria Fernandez, Andrea Fico, Lena Fico, Arissa Fiedler, Shannon Flores, Ashley Foston, Heidi Gaenzle, Toni Garcia, Sam Giese, Shay Gilligan, Robert Gomez, Katie Gongola, Rachel Green, Amanda Harper, Tiffany Harris, Jessica Heiderscheidt, Natalie Hilvert, Rachel Holderman, Sabina Hunter, Seraphina Hunter, Max Ibbarrientos, Brie Israel, Matthew Janczak, A.J. Johnson, Alec Johnson, Kelly Johnson, Kyle Johnson, Amaan Khan, Corey Kirkendoll, Collin Klein, Jacqueline Klein, Jessica Kolber, Roxana Kolber, Madeline Koldos, Ariella Lombardi, Tabatha Los, Jessica Mancera, Ashley Martinez, Garrett Mayberry, Maggie Mazurek, Madeline McCue, Porsha McJefferson, Alycia McWhorter, A.J. Milledge II, Rachele Minasola, Shinera Moncure, Tichina Moncure, Joshua Morris, Sherriana Mosley, Tamara Neal, Sara Neziri, Christopher Nguyen, Lynne Noel, Sarah Nolimal, Maureen O’Neill, Aleesha Parent, Christopher Perkins, Alex Piedra, Hannah Poli, Amanda Potas, Denise Rager, Carmen Ramirez, Paola Rivera, De’Angleo Robinson, Antonio Rodriguez, Elie Rogers, Dan Saucedo, Emily Schlitter, Sarah Schwartz, Kristen Siciliano, Desi Smith, Brittany Soltis, Jaron Stevenson, Tiffany Sutton, Zachary Svoboda, Chancey Tate, Alexander VanMaldegiam, Colin Wadelin, Ashley Walker, Kahlial Washburn, Anna Wedolowski, Sabrina Wells, Hubert Zarraga, and Nathaniel Zbasnik.

The production staff is led by Brian Kowalski (Music Director), Jeff Linamen (Stage & Technical Director), Aimee Riddle (Producer), Gay Rupert (Producer & Vocal Director) and Marsha Vanek (Choreographer). Additional staff support is provided by Linda Baker, Bobby Braun, Rebecca Lee Peterson, Virginia Strong and Mimi Warwick.

Performances of RAGTIME are April 19th, 20th and 21st at 7pm and April 22nd at 2pm. Bartlett High School Auditorium, 701 W. Schick Rd. Bartlett, IL 60103 Ticket prices are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors and $6 for students. For tickets call Virginia Strong at 630-837-8817.

NOTE: Audiences are cautioned that the language used in this work reflects the racial tensions of the time.

RAGTIME is produced by special arrangement with Music Theatre International (MTI).